top of page
  • Writer's pictureYumi Kashihara

【アメリカ留学記2】vol.6 今年のクリスマスは…

(Abridged version in English will be at the end of this page.)


みなさんこんにちは、ユミです。

今にも2022年を迎えようとしていますが、みなさんはどのようにお過ごしでしょうか。


新しい年を迎える前に…日本でも多くの人が祝うクリスマス。


私は日本には帰国せず、カリフォルニアにいる友人を訪れました。

今回はその様子を皆さんにシェアしたいと思います。


 

カリフォルニアに行くのは実質これが初めて(飛行機の乗り継ぎで一晩泊まったことはあります)だったので、ワクワク。

Hemetという小さな街に住む友人の家で数日を過ごしました。


その友人のご家族はメキシコ出身の方が多く、アメリカだけでなくメキシコの文化にも触れることができてよかったです。

手作りのtamales

滞在中には、上の写真のようなtamaleというメキシコ料理もみんなで作りました。


また、Hemet最終日の前日にはSan Diegoに行って、Balboa ParkとCoronado Beachを楽しみました。 Balboa Parkでは小さな林を歩いたり、美しい建物を見て回ったりしました。


Balboa Parkにいた間、アメリカにいることを忘れそうになりました

建造物たちは様々な文化をもとにして造られたらしく、公園内を歩いているだけでも世界中を旅しているような気分がして楽しかったです。


Coronado Beachは白い砂がとても綺麗で印象的でした。


Coronado Beachの白い砂浜

ここではサンドイッチを食べたり、海岸沿いを歩いたりして、ゆったりとした時間を過ごすことができました。 私は海岸沿いの小さな町で生まれ育ったので、久しぶりの海風にはちょっと感動しました。

 

今年のクリスマスはHemetという小さな街で、友人ご家族と楽しい時間を過ごすことができました。 日本に帰れないのは少し悲しいですが、一緒に祝日を祝う人たちがいたことだけでも幸せですし、友人とそのご家族には感謝の気持ちでいっぱいです。 みなさんも冬休み中に、ご家族や友人たちと楽しい時間をぜひ過ごしてください!


ユミ

 

(Abridged version in English starts here.)

Hello everyone, it’s Yumi. I can’t believe it’s almost 2022… hope your holiday has been going well. How was your Christmas? Mine was great... I could not go back to Japan, but instead, I visited my friend in Hemet, California. I am sharing a little bit of it with you today!

 

I was very excited for the holidays because this was technically my first time visiting California. I enjoyed the “American” culture while I’m staying there by staying with my friend’s family because Christmas is quite different from what I have experienced in Japan. I also cooked tamales (My friend's family has a lot of members from Mexico)!

While I was staying in Hemet, I could visit San Diego too. I enjoyed my time in Balboa Park and Coronado Beach.

I spent a peaceful and calm time there. Because I was born and raised in a small town by the ocean, I became a bit nostalgic when I was feeling the sea breeze.

 

I am a little sad that I could not go back to Japan, but I am really glad that I had people to spend time with over Christmas.

I am so grateful to them for welcoming me.


Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends.


25 views
bottom of page